Spring Blooms

On the last day of April, my friend Casey and I took a trip to Longwood Gardens. We went to Longwood Gardens in November to enjoy the fall exhibit, and had so much fun that we wanted to check out the spring exhibit too. The spring exhibit is Spring Blooms and features lovely Azaleas, Rhododendron, Japanese Wisteria, Hydrangea, Fan Columbine, and over 240,000 tulips.

The primary purpose of our trip wasn’t birding, but you know me, I’m birding 24/7 (whether I choose to or not haha!). There were a lot of Gray Catbirds, American Robins, Mourning Doves, Canada Geese, Song Sparrows, and Northern Cardinals. In the meadow area we watched a variety of Swallows (Northern Rough-winged, Barn, and Tree) and Red-winged Blackbirds. While walking through the forest habitat we listened to the songs and calls of Hermit Thrushes, Wood Thrushes, Carolina Wrens, and Carolina Chickadees. There are also Purple Martin houses near the rose garden.

I didn’t really take pictures of birds during this trip because I was using my smaller lens, but I did take a lot of flower and landscape pictures. I wanted to share with you my favorite spring blooms.

I’m not sure what all these flowers are called, but I’d like to, so if you’re good at identifying flowers let me know.

 

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

Leave a Reply

