Saturday in the Park

It was a lovely afternoon so my mom, sister, and I went to Haddon Lake Park to enjoy the company of the ducks. We saw a plethora of ducks, geese, some tree swallows, robins, crows,  and three female Bufflehead. The highlight of the walk was seeing 11 Double-crested Cormorants. I always go to Haddon Lake Park at the beginning of April to see the cormorants return, and 11 is the highest number that I’ve seen at one time. I wanted to share some of the pictures from our walk.

IMG_2637
Sweet Mallard Pair (Image by BirdNation)
IMG_2645
Double-crested Cormorants (Image by BirdNation)
IMG_2664
Hybrid Duck (Image by BirdNation)
IMG_2684
American Crow (Image by BirdNation)
IMG_2658
Resting Hybrid Duck (Image by BirdNation)

Remember the Tale of the Three Amigos? (If not check out that link to read it :-)) It looks like we have a new trio of hybrid ducks who like to hang out together. My mom, sister, and I call the 2 ducks on the left “the twins” since they are always together. These 3 spent the afternoon swimming together in a little pod.

IMG_2678
“The Twins” and “Black and White Duck” (Image by BirdNation)

Tomorrow is supposed to be in the mid-60s, so I’m hoping to take a day trip. I’ll let you know if/where I end up birding. Also, get ready for another Warbler Sunday!

 

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

1 thought on “Saturday in the Park”

  1. Pingback: BirdNation

Leave a Reply

