Blog-iversary!

Hi friends!

I realized that today is the 1 year anniversary of when I started BirdNation! I can’t believe it’s been a whole year. BirdNation has been a smaller part of a larger journey I’ve been embarking on the last few years.

Over the past few years, birds have had an incredible impact on my life. Learning about birds has opened up a whole new world for me, and has brought peace, wonder, and a deeper appreciation for all nature into my life that I was severely lacking. Until I starting birding, I didn’t realize how much of life I was actually missing out on. There was a whole new world to explore, and not just for birds, but anything relating to nature.

And as the years have been passing by, I’ve been changing. Craving a simpler existence than the life I have now. I’m a public school music teacher, and don’t get me wrong, that’s by no means a terrible existence. Teaching can be wonderful, but every year the nature of public school education becomes harder to handle. And I can feel the stress chipping away at me physically, mentally, and spiritually, so birding has become one of the few parts of my life (besides my wonderful family, friends, and pets) to bring me peace .

All of this got me thinking: what can I do to help renew myself? I love to teach and I love nature. Every time I read about climate change or environmental issue I always wish I can make more of a difference. And that’s when it struck me: maybe I should try to become an environmental educator.

So one fateful day in December 2015, I made a crazy choice: I enrolled in college as a biology major. I figured, what do I have to lose? I have a whole new world of possibilities waiting for me.

Now, I personally know people who think I’m insane for wanting to change fields. Yeah, maybe I am. And yes, I do know I have to make money to survive. I will. But taking a step forward is invigorating, and for the first time in awhile I’m excited for the future. I need to spread my wings and fly :-). Maybe I’ll land gracefully like a Carolina Chickadee, or land stumbling and awkwardly like a Laysan Albatross, but I’ll never know if I don’t try to soar. Besides, I have a back-up plan: to be a public school biology teacher, and avert my fate for becoming prematurely deaf (I’m a band teacher, so my world is very loud haha).

BirdNation was one of my first stepping stones to being an environmental educator. I thought that starting a blog solely about birds would be a great was to practice teaching others about the life of birds. I also wanted to connect with other people who are just as passionate about nature as I was.

And blogging has exceeded my expectations. I’m so happy to get to connect with you, my fabulous readers, who have brought me so much joy through your blogs. Thank you for spending your time reading my posts. You’ve helped me grow as an educator more than you know! There are so many awesome bird experiences to be had and things to learn about the avian world. I can’t wait to share them with you here at the blog.

I’m looking forward to another wonderful year of birds with you here at BirdNation!

yellow-warbler-singing

 

 

 

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

7 thoughts on “Blog-iversary!”

Leave a Reply

