Autumn

Autumn has become a special time of year for me. Autumn brings inevitable but important change. For me, it’s a time for reflection; not only about the past, but about my future. Feeling the cool breeze and the seeing changing colors make me feel invigorated. Seeing the new species arrive and the old migrate south fills me with wonder. There’s nothing quite like spending time outdoors in the crisp air and experiencing the beauty of nature on a sunny autumn day.

I don’t really share much of my personal life here unless it has to do with birds (of course!), but it’s been a rough few months for me. Circumstances beyond my control have consumed my time since mid-September, which I would have rather spent outdoors enjoying the season. This past weekend renewed my sense of calmness, because I was able to spend most of it outdoors. I feel like I was able to experience autumn of the first time this year over the past few days. Autumn is slowly repairing my bruised soul from the past few months. As time goes on, I find the more time I spend in nature, the happier I become.

I don’t have any pictures or stories about birds for this post (but have a few posts currently in the works about that, so stay tuned!). On Saturday I had a wonderful time at Smithville Park with my Mom and sister to celebrate my Mom’s birthday. On Sunday I spend a lovely day with my friends Casey and Cathe at Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, PA. I wanted to share with you some of the autumn beauty that I experienced on those trips. I hope these pictures of the amazing season inspire you as well.

“Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile.” -William Cullen Bryant

img_1117
Smithville Lake (Image by BirdNation)
img_1123
Path at Smithville Lake (Image by BirdNation)
img_1470
Lovely flowers at Longwood Gardens (Image by BirdNation)
img_1484
A dash of orange (Image by BirdNation at Longwood Gardens)
img_1487
The Farmhouse (Image by BirdNation at Longwood Gardens)

The following images were taken inside The Conservatory at Longwood Gardens. We were there during the Chrysanthemum Festival. These pictures were taken in many different rooms that housed hundreds of varieties of flowers. I do not know the names of these flowers, I just thought they were beautiful (if you know anything of them I would love to learn what they are).

 

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

1 thought on “Autumn”

Leave a Reply

