Nest Watch!

Hello friends! I wanted to post today to catch up on the past month or so. The end of the school year is approaching (I’m a teacher), so things have been pretty hectic and I haven’t posted much. Even though its been busy I have been birding, so here are some of the highlights from the past weeks.

I feel so lucky to have been able to do some nest watching this spring. I found two Yellow Warbler nests at Boundary Creek. One of the nests we found was just being started by a female at the time. A few days later we were able to see the results of her hard work. It’s amazing how quickly birds will build these amazing nests. Here’s the before and after.

Last year at Boundary Creek we discovered a Barn Swallow nest on top of a light near the bathrooms. We ended up observing the nest throughout the season. This particular female had two broods with about 3 chicks fledging per brood. A few weeks ago we checked the nest and there she was! I haven’t seen chicks yet, but she was sitting on the nest. I was wondering about her so I’m glad to see her again.

IMG_0890
Barn Swallow on her nest (Image by BirdNation)

In mid-May Dave and I spotted a female Baltimore Oriole hanging around a sycamore tree at Strawbridge Lake. It turns out she was constructing a nest. Baltimore Oriole nests are really cool because they make hanging sacs. The female will lay her nesting material on a branch and by randomly poking starts to form knots. It takes about a week for a female to finish a nest. (If you want to learn more about Baltimore Orioles and their nests, check out my Migration Monday article about them here)  A week later I found her beautiful completed nest.

A few months ago House Sparrows moved into our nest box. We weren’t seeing much happening on our nest box cam for awhile except the shuffling of sticks. About a week ago Dave turned on the cam and there was a chick! It was waiting to be fed by its mom. House Sparrows make messy nests, so we didn’t realize there were eggs. I’m not sure how many chicks there were, but there were at least 2. They fledged a few days ago.

Have you observed any nests this spring? Tell me about it in the comments. I would love to hear about them!

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

1 thought on “Nest Watch!”

Leave a Reply

