Hawks, and Owls, and Feeders, oh my!

So I learned today that I have a problem…

Too many bird cams! I don’t know which one to watch! I guess that’s a good problem to have.

Yesterday Wild Birds Unlimited’s Barred Owl cam started up again. Today, Big Red, the female from Cornell’s Red-tailed Hawk cam, laid her first egg of the season.

3-13 BR lays her first egg
Big Red rolls her egg (Image by CornellHawks)

This is the 5th season that Cornell has had Red-tailed Hawk cam. The resident hawks are the female Big Red (named after Cornell’s mascot) and the male Ezra (named after the university’s founder). Last year this pair raised 3 hawklets named F1, F2, and F3. Each year the Lab uses letters/numbers for the chick’s names and last year we all referred to them as the “F-troop”. Unfortunately, F1 died in July because s/he crashed into a building on campus while trying to hunt. As far as I know the other hawks are still doing well. Big Red and Ezra have two nest sites that they switch between. This year they chose their 2013-14 nest site called “Weill”.  Today’s egg, “G1”, is the earliest egg laid by Big Red on record since 2012. Last year she laid her first egg on March 28. Historically, Big Red has laid her 2nd egg exactly 3 days later so we’ll see if we have a new egg on Wednesday. I’m looking forward to an exciting new season!

I also had the “too many cams problem” last year, but it was an enjoyable and I learned so much. Thank goodness you can have multiple tabs open on your browser and I have multiple devices! So my time will be well spent watching: Great Horned Owl, Albatross, Cornell Hawks, Barred Owl, Barn Owl (which is ongoing) and of course Cornell’s two Feederwatch cams.

Oh yea, and the House Sparrow cam in my yard. Dave says he sees the sparrows working on the nest and going in and out of the box in the mornings. Here’s our nest today:

3-13 nest

Also, as promised yesterday, here is my new hummingbird feeder. It’s a copper feeder from Perky Pet.

IMG_0615

I can’t wait to see some hummingbirds! Last year a hummingbird cam up to my seed feeder (probably because it’s red) and then realized it wasn’t nectar so it tried my orange New Guinea impatiens. It was disappointed by that too I guess so it flew away. This year will be different! Now it’ll have some food to feast on.

And now for some happening around my apartment:

Right after I took the image on the right, the two male House Sparrows started fighting with each other. I’m guessing they were fighting over the female the bottom male was next to.

We’ve had about 4 European Starling visitors the past week frequenting the feeder. Boy, are they loud.

European starling
European Starling (Image by BirdNation)
IMG_0612
Matt watches a Starling (Image by David Horowitz)

And finally, here is a picture of our Senegal Parrot, Matt, sitting in our cat’s seat (aka The Throne). I came home today to find him bird watching at the feeder, while our cat, Jenny, sat on the floor below him. Dave said that he was watching from that spot for a few hours. Honestly, I’m surprised that Matt has taken up bird watching. He loves to yell at the outside birds in the mornings (especially those pesky Blue Jays and Cardinals), but today sat silently and watched curiously.  At least he was happy 🙂

Tomorrow is Round 5 of the March Migration Madness. The lineup is American Kestral vs. Barred Owl. Don’t forget to log onto Facebook and vote! Speaking of Facebook, you can join BirdNation on our Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/birdnation123

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

1 thought on “Hawks, and Owls, and Feeders, oh my!”

Leave a Reply

