GBBC Day 2: Haddon Lake Park

It was super cold today, but I did go to Haddon Lake Park with my mom and sister for Day 2 of the bird count. Now, before you all yell at me for being crazy and birding in 18 degree weather: I was only outside for about 3 minutes. The rest of the time we sat in the car with the heat on and counted. Like yesterday, we did not see a variety of species but we did count a lot of birds.

This is my 3rd year participating in the Great Backyard Bird Count and going to Haddon Lake Park for the count has become a tradition. Haddon Lake Park is a special place for me. It’s one of the first parks that Dave and I starting birding at and when we used to live within walking distance we would go there almost every day. There are also a lot of resident waterfowl year-round (and you know how I’m a waterfowl enthusiast!). It’s become a necessity for me to count at Haddon Lake for the GBBC.

Day 2 official count (5 species, 273 individual birds):

  • 84 Canada Geese
  • 135 Mallards
  • 26 Ring-billed Gulls
  • 27 Dark-eyed Junco
  • 1 Mourning Dove

(You may notice in the below pictures some white domestic geese, but I did not include them in the count)

When we first arrived the lake was like a multi- lane highway. Large groups of waterfowl dispersed from the land into the lake, and some swam in one direction and the rest went the other way.

IMG_0465
Waterfowl Highway

As we continue to watch everyone spread out a little more and made small groups or pairs.

This cute Mallard Pair even did some head pumping to solidify their pair-bond.

IMG_0479
Mallard Pair

Every year there are gulls hanging around the lake, but today was the highest number of Ring-billed Gulls I’ve seen there at one time. Many of them floated around together in the water, but a few decided to rest on the grass.

IMG_0492

IMG_0494
Floating the day away…

We even had a bonus animal today: a squirrel! Poor thing looked like he was pretty cold. It stared at us for awhile. Maybe he was hoping we would let him into the heat or give him food. After a few minutes he ran over to a nearby trash can to look for a meal. He was awfully cute though.

IMG_0475

It was fun watching all the action this afternoon. I’m glad the Haddon Lake GBBC tradition has continued. Tomorrow Dave and I are planning on going to the Edwin B. Forsythe National Wildlife Refuge. There is an 8 mile wildlife drive, so we can again bird watch from the car. Hopefully we will see a lot of waterfowl tomorrow.

Before I finish this post, I wanted to show you the first bird I saw today. This adorable Carolina Chickadee was enjoying their breakfast at my feeder. It was a nice way to start the day. 🙂

IMG_0464

Author: BirdNation

I am an avid birder, teacher, and nature lover. I primarily birdwatch throughout New Jersey and Eastern Pennsylvania.

1 thought on “GBBC Day 2: Haddon Lake Park”

Leave a Reply

